The second IMIA/UMIT Medical Informatics Award of Excellence was given in 2007 during a ceremony at MedInfo 2007 in Brisbane, Australia. The recipient was selected by a Nominating Committee consisting of two members nominated by IMIA – IMIA President Dr. Nancy Lorenzi, Nashville, and IMIA Vice-President for MedInfos, Dr Antoine Geissbuhler, Geneva – and two members nominated by UMIT – Dr Elske Ammenwerth and Dr. Silvia Miksch.

The Nomination Committee unanimously selected Prof. Jan van Bemmel, Rotterdam, The Netherlands, who served as IMIA President for 2001-2004, and  has been an outstanding pioneer of the field of medical informatics. The award celebration took place on August 24, 2007 at MedInfo 2007 in Brisbane, Australia, culminating with Prof. van Bemmel’s Medical Informatics Award of Excellence Lecture, entitled “Reflections on Curiosity“ which was published in the 2008 IMIA Yearbook of Medical Informatics.

Back to IMIA François Grémy Award of Excellence page