The International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA), at its 2001 General Assembly, held in London, UK, approved the establishment of a Medical Informatics Award of Excellence. The Award is presented at IMIA’s by annual MedInfo congress.  In 2015, the award was renamed the IMIA François Grémy Award of Excellence, to honour Dr. François Grémy, to recognize his foundation work in the establishment of IMIA and its predecessors, and his lifelong contribution to health and biomedical informatics in his home country of France, Europe, and internationally.

The recipient of this Medical Informatics Award of Excellence is an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to medical informatics has made a lasting contribution to medicine and healthcare through her or his achievements in research, education, development or application in the field of medical informatics.


Dr. Hyeoun-Ae Park and Dr. Riccardo Bellazzi 2023

Dr. Edward H. Shortliffe 2021

Dr. Suzanne Bakken 2019

Dr. Fernán Gonzalez Bernaldo de Quirós and Dr. K C Lun 2017

Dr. Enrico Coiera and Dr. Patrice Degoulet 2015

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Haux2013

Dr Marion Ball and Dr Hans Peterson 2010

Prof. Jan van Bemmel – 2007 

Prof. François Grémy2004 Inaugural Recipient