Approved Academy By-Laws– Updated July 2023

Academy Board 


Dr. Kaija Saranto, President (2022 – 2024)
Dr. Kaija Saranto is a Professor for Health and Human Services Informatics at the University of Eastern Finland and Past President of the Finnish Health Informatics Association. She has served as a Scientific Program Co-Chair for MedInfo 2015 and as the VP MedInfo for 2017, as well as in many various other leadership roles within the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA) including IMIA’s Nursing Informatics Special Interest Group (IMIA NI). Read more…




Dr. Terry Hannan, Secretary (2022-2024)
Dr . Hannan is a Clinical A/Professor and Visiting Faculty member of the Australian Institute of Health Innovation at Macquarie University, Sydney. He is an Associate Editor of the Applied Clinical Informatics journal. He is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Health Informatics and the American College of medical Informatics.  Read more




Professor Siaw-Teng Liaw, Treasurer (2023 – 2025)
Professor Liaw is a clinician scientist with expertise in health informatics and systems research and education. He is the Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre on eHealth, the Chair of IMIA’s Primary Care Informatics Working Group, member of the Working Council of the Asia eHealth Information Network and Associate Editor, Int J Med Informatics.  Read More





Dr. Hyeoun-Ae Park, Member -at-Large (2022-2025)
Dr. Park is the Emeritus Dean and a Professor at College of Nursing and a Researcher at the
Systems Biomedical Informatics Research Center, Seoul National University.  She had served IMIA as the vice president for Working Groups and Special Interest Groups from 2007 to 2013, and IMIA President Elect for 2015 – 2017. She also had served as the chair of the Nursing Informatics Special Interest Group in IMIA from 2012 to 2015.  Read More





Dr. Don E. Detmer, Member-at-Large (Second Term – 2023-2026)
Don Eugene Detmer, MD, MA, is Professor of Medical
Education at the University of Virginia. He has held past
professorships at Cambridge University, the University of
Utah, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  Read More




Dr. Bill Hersh, Past President (2022 – 2024)
Bill is an inaugural member of the Academy and has participated in all of its meetings. He is  a Professor and the Chair of the Department of Medical Informatics & Clinical Epidemiology at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) in Portland, Oregon, USA. Read more




Ex Officio Academy Board Members

Dr. Brigitte Séroussi, IMIA President






  Elaine Huesing, CEO, IMIA






Past Academy Board members

IAHSI Virtual Board Meeting – July 8, 2020

Top left to right: Dr. Reinhold Haux, President; Elaine Huesing, IMIA CEO; Marion Ball, Member at Large
Bottom left to right: Dr. Michio Kimura, Treasurer; Dr. Bill Hersch, In Coming President; Dr. Paula Otero, Secretary