May 23, 2024 (Geneva, Switzerland) – The International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics (IAHSI), is pleased and honored to announce the 2024 class of Academy Fellows.

IAHSI, the Academy of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA), serves as an honor society that recognizes expertise in biomedical and health informatics internationally and is one of the highest honors in the field. This year 31 new Fellows were elected by the Academy and now join the prestigious fellowship of their international peers, recognized for their international and substantial achievements in the field.

“It is an honor and pleasure to announce the Academy’s Class of 2024 Fellows,” said Dr. Kaija Saranto, President of IAHSI. “It is one of the highest honors in the international field of biomedical and health informatics and we look forward to their contributions to the Academy’s ongoing initiatives, objectives and goals.”

The IAHSI Fellows will gather for their annual Plenary session on 26th of August in Athens at MIE 2024, the European Federation for Medical Informatics Association’s (EFMI) annual conference, being co-hosted by the Greek Biomedical and Health Informatics Association,  GBHI.

2024 Class of IAHSI Members

Jos Aarts, IMIA EFMI Region
Arfan Ahmed, IMIA MENAHIA Region
Eustache Muteba Ayumba, IMIA HELINA Region
Arindam Basu, IMIA APAMI Region
Analia Baum, IMIA LAC Region
Arriel Benis, IMIA EFMI Region
Sonia E. Benitez – IMIA LAC Region
Jen Bichel-Findlay, IMIA APAMI Region
Kathrin Cresswell, IMIA EFMI Region
Walter H. Curioso, IMIA LAC Region
David Dorr, IMIA North America Region
Osama El Hassan, IMIA MENAHIA Region
Nicolas Hardiker, IMIA EFMI Region
Sriram Iyengar, IMIA North America Region
Amr Jamal, IMIA MENAHIA Region
Kyung Hwan Kim, IMIA APAMI Region
Tso Ying Lee, IMIA APAMI Region
Yves Lussier, IMIA North America Region
John D. McGreevey III, IMIA North America Region
Martin Michalowski, IMIA North America Region
Claudia Moro Barra, IMIA LAC Region
Josephine Nabukenya, IMIA HELINA Region
Georges Nguefack-Tsague, IMIA HELINA Region
Frank Oemig, IMIA EFMI Region
Fernando Plazzotta, IMIA LAC Region
Anandhi Ramachandran, IMIA APAMI Region
Sharareh Rostam Niakan Kalhori, IMIA MENAHIA Region
Christopher Seebregts, IMIA HELINA Region
Sylvia Thun, IMIA EFMI Region
Jaideep Vaidya, IMIA North America Region
Shyam Visweswaran, IMIA North America EFMI Region

A new class of Fellows are elected to the Academy each year, nominated by the current Academy Fellows; criteria on accomplishments, recognition and global engagement are carefully considered. Please visit our webpage, IAHSI Nomination Process for New Fellows,  for more information. The deadline for the 2025 Class of Fellows is March 3, 2025.


The International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics (IAHSI), established in 2017, is the Academy of the International Medical Informatics Association’s (IMIA).   The Academy is similar to other national academies of sciences. It seeks to nominate and elect those whose contributions in informatics are recognized internationally. The goal is to promote the dissemination of knowledge and best practices, foster new ideas, and encourage worldwide collaboration and sharing of expertise and resources.

For more information about the Academy, please visit website here for a complete list of all fellows.

About IMIA
As the world body for health and biomedical informatics and an ‘association of associations,” the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA), provides informatics leadership and expertise to the multidisciplinary health-focused community and to policy makers, to enable the transformation of healthcare in accord with the world-wide vision of improving the health of the world population.  For more information, please visit website .

For further information, please contact
Elaine Huesing, IMIA CEO